# Truck parking dataset dictionary

Edition: September 16, 2026. Version 2.1. Publisher: Allentown Dock Door Repair Research.

The 50-state CSV has 29 fields. JSON null and empty CSV cells preserve missing values. A reported zero remains zero. Counts are not live availability. This dataset is not a shortage model or a comparable historical time series.

**Private-source year conflict:** FHWA’s program page identifies Trucker’s Friend 2013, while Chapter II identifies the 2015 database. Field names use the report publication year rather than inventing a resolved observation year. See the source-input file and primary-source register for both records.

| Field | Meaning |
|---|---|
| `state` | U.S. state name; one row for each of 50 states. |
| `fhwa_2013_14_public_facilities` | Count of public facilities in FHWA’s 2015 Table 4; 2013 metadata / 2014 surveys. |
| `fhwa_2013_14_public_spaces` | Count of public spaces in the same historical table. |
| `fhwa_2015_report_private_truck_stops` | Historical private stop count in the 2015 report. Input-year conflict: program metadata 2013, report Chapter II 2015. |
| `fhwa_2015_report_private_spaces` | Historical private space count in the 2015 report; the same source-year conflict applies. |
| `derived_sum_of_reported_historical_spaces` | Arithmetic sum of non-missing historical public and private components. Consult coverage; a partial sum is not a complete inventory. |
| `historical_sum_coverage` | Whether both historical components were reported, or a component is missing. |
| `atri_2024_rest_area_spaces` | Public rest-area truck spaces reported in ATRI/AASHTO’s 2024 DOT data. |
| `atri_published_spaces_per_100_nhs_miles` | ATRI’s published ratio: 2024 spaces per 100 NHS road miles using 2022 road-mileage inputs. |
| `atri_nhs_mileage_year` | 2022 for populated ATRI rows; missing for unreported states. |
| `atri_published_spaces_per_million_truck_vmt` | ATRI’s published ratio: 2024 spaces per million truck vehicle-miles, using 2022 inputs. |
| `atri_truck_vmt_year` | 2022 for populated ATRI rows. |
| `atri_2024_amenities_of_8` | State-reported count of ATRI’s eight listed amenities, not an audit of every facility. |
| `atri_2024_safety_features_of_5` | State-reported count of ATRI’s five safety features, not a safety rating. |
| `atri_annual_rest_area_budget_usd_per_parking_space` | Published annual rest-area service and maintenance budget per parking space, USD. Not truck-only observed expenditure; the metric’s denominator is retained as published. |
| `atri_published_historical_private_per_public_2024_ratio` | The r in displayed public:private = 1:r. Historical private spaces / public rest-area spaces reported in 2024; publisher-rounded to one decimal. |
| `atri_coverage` | Reported or not reported in the source table; not reported is not zero. |
| `derived_historical_private_div_public_2024_rounded_1dp` | Recomputed quotient at the published one-decimal precision. |
| `derived_ratio_roundtrip_matches` | Boolean equality of the recomputed one-decimal quotient with ATRI’s displayed r; missing where ineligible. |
| `diagnostic_rounded_ratio_times_public_not_an_exact_count` | Published rounded r multiplied by public spaces, shown to demonstrate that reverse multiplication does not recover an exact count. |
| `diagnostic_product_minus_historical_private_not_inventory_change` | Difference between that diagnostic product and the actual private source count. A rounding diagnostic, not a parking change. |
| `noncomparable_public_count_difference_not_change` | 2024 rest-area figure minus historical public figure. Differences in scope make this non-comparable as a time series. |
| `noncomparable_public_count_difference_percent_not_growth` | The same numerical difference divided by the historical public count ×100. Not a growth or decline measure. |
| `fhwa_2022_nhs_miles_spotcheck` | FHWA 2022 HM-41 total road miles for Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas or California; other rows not spot-checked. |
| `derived_nhs_spotcheck_spaces_per_100_miles` | 2024 space count ×100 / 2022 road miles, displayed to four decimals. |
| `nhs_spotcheck_matches_published_1dp` | Boolean equality after rounding the spot-check to one decimal. |
| `fhwa_source_url` | Primary count table; consult source-input JSON and primary-source register for conflicting year metadata. |
| `atri_source_url` | Primary dashboard. |
| `verification_date` | Date this source compilation was checked; not an observation date for all inputs. |

## Reproduction

Run `python truck-parking-build-2026-09-16.py` in the directory containing the source-input JSON. The standard-library script regenerates the dated CSV and JSON, checking four historical totals, 50 state rows, 47 reported ATRI counts, 46 ratio matches, four roadway spot-checks and the presence of exported derived columns. It does not fetch or re-verify live sources.

The source-input JSON includes the published count arrays, all 35 budget inputs and the denominator spot-checks. The primary-source register identifies the originating sources for the non-state calculations. The regional CSV retains five evidence records: four planning rows and a separate dated opening announcement with no reported capacity.

## Rights and reuse

This publication’s compilation does not transfer ownership of the originating organizations’ reports or create a blanket license for their material. Original source links are provided; no mandatory backlink or automated attribution payload is included.
